Applies To:
  • CitectSCADA

Under some conditions Citect may zap all the records in a dBase file. When this occurs, all the records in the dBase file are deleted. This may occur if Citect tries to open a dBase file, and the file is locked by another user. Under this condition, Citect thinks the dBase file does not exist and so creates a new dBase file (thereby destroying all previous records).

This problem is unlikely to occur under normal conditions. It is more likely to occurs with slow network file locking (Windows for Workgroups) and if your Cicode is opening and closing dBase files (which are shared on a network) often.

See also Q1280.


CIT has confirmed this to be a problem in Citect for Windows. This problem has been fixed after the release of version 2.01 Rev 0 and will be available with next release. If you require this fix before this version, contact Citect support.

You can work around this problem by keeping the dBase file open. If you open in shared mode on startup - and keep it open - you should avoid this problem.