If you are not concerned with preserving the tracking data after you have changed the configuration, you can simply delete the backing files and immediately begin using the PRT_UI to view runtime data.
Open the Tracker project in the Workbench.
Click Tools on the menu bar.
Select Command Prompt.
An MS Dos window opens.
On the command line type cd log.
Type del *.*prt_dc.
Result: Previous tracking data is lost, backing files are deleted and the PRT_UI can be accessed to view tracking data.
Caution: If you choose to delete the backing files without running the Export and Import programs, you will lose all of your item tracking data.
Option 10.1.2. Follow a Required Procedure to Restart the PRT User Interface.