Getting Started > Upgrading to CitectSCADA v7.20 > Migration Tool > Using the Migration Tool
Using the Migration Tool

Note: Before you use the Migration Tool is strongly recommended that you familiarize yourself with the process that it performs, and the preparatory steps that you need to carry out with your existing projects as described under Migration Tool.

To run the Migration Tool:

  1. Backup the projects that you intend to migrate.
  2. From the Citect Explorer or Citect Editor menu bar select Tools | Migration Tool to display the Migration Tool dialog.
  3. Either accept the project displayed in the edit box, or browse for the project that you wish to upgrade. To migrate this project as well as any included projects within it, select the option 'Migrate Included Projects'.
  4. Select the Remove obsolete Memory and Alarm devices check box if you wish to delete these devices after successful migration.
  5. Note: Do not select this check box if the project contains any included projects which are shared with more than one master project when you run the tool for the first time on such projects. Run the tool a second time using this option if the migration is successful after it is run the first time if you want to delete the devices.

  6. Leave as selected the option 'Create Roles from User security information' if you wish to migrate the users database from an existing project
  7. Check the option 'Copy XP_Style menu into Tab_Style Menu' to convert legacy menu entries to the format necessary for the new menu configuration system. By default this option is unchecked, to avoid potential compile errors that may occur after migration if the legacy menu.dbf contains functions which have been removed.
  8. Check 'Migrate Included Projects' to migrate the included projects that are in the project you previously selected.
  9. Note: If 'Copy XP Syle menu into Tab_Style Menu' and 'Migrate Included Projects' are both selected when the migration tool runs the following message will be displayed "Copying menus of included projects may lead to conflicts. Any conflicts will need to be manually corrected". To avoid this from occurring it is recommended you run the migration tool twice. In the first instance just select the option 'Copy XP_Style menu into Tab_Style Menu', and in the second instance just select the option 'Migrate Included Projects'.

  10. Click Migrate to begin the migration process, or click Close to exit without performing the migration.
  11. The migration process will begin and display a progress dialog indicating the stage of the conversion and the name of the project being migrated. If you wish to cancel the migration at this point click the Abort button.
  12. Note: Aborting a migration will stop the migration process, and any changes already completed will not be rolled back. You will have to restore your project from the backup created in the first step.

  13. When the migration process is concluded a confirmation dialog box will display indicating the number of variables converted and the number of I/O Devices deleted (if device deletion was selected at the start of migration)
  14. Click the Close button to close the dialog.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]