Under normal conditions, the Proficy Portal server maintains its connection with clients until the client application logs out. If a user closes his or her browser without logging off, the session remains active until the session timeout expires.
Under normal circumstances, you do not need to do anything to recover lost sessions. The sessions time out and disconnect from the server automatically after a set amount of time. When the session disconnects, it is recovered and available for use by another Proficy Portal client.
To keep this interval short, set a small timeout session interval in the Proficy Portal Administration web page. However, be careful not to make the interval so short that regular users are constantly timing out.
NOTE: If you disable the session timeout, the only way to recover sessions is to kill them. Refer to the section Terminating Inactive Sessions to learn more about killing a Proficy Portal session.