Standard viewing software

Previous chapterNext chapter Show allShow all    Hide allHide all

After establishing a connection, the viewing software will show the screen of the remote desktop.

Further settings can be made via the toolbar or the context menu. Even if the toolbar is not visible, you can use the context menu by right-clicking on the title bar of the viewing software or on the symbol in the taskbar. If you are in full screen mode, you have to deactivate it first by using the keyboard shortcut <Ctrl><Alt><Shift><F>.

The toolbar and the context menu offer the following options:

Connection options...

Opens the dialog for editing the connection options. See chapter Connection options

Connection info

Opens a dialog that shows information about the current connection.

Full Screen

Switches to full screen mode. This means that you will no longer have a Windows frame around the software.
If the remote computer and the local computer use the same screen resolution, the remote picture will fill the local screen.
If the remote computer uses a lower screen resolution, the remote desktop will be centered and surrounded with a black border.
If the remote computer uses a higher screen resolution than the local computer, you will only see a part of the remote desktop. You can then scroll with the mouse to move the screen to the area outside of the visible area.

You can use the keyboard shortcut <Alt><Tab> to switch between the remote computer and the local computer. You can end the full screen mode with the keyboard shortcut <Ctrl><Alt><Shift><F>.

Request screen refresh

If the display appears blurred, you can force a refresh of the remote desktop.

Send Ctrl-Alt-Del

This action has no effect.

Send Ctrl-Esc

Opens the start menu of the remote desktop.

Send Ctrl key press/release

Presses the Ctrl key of the remote desktop. Click again to release the key.

Send Alt key press/release

Presses the Alt key of the remote desktop. Click again to release the key.

Transfer files...

Opens the File Transfer dialog (See File transfer) that allows you to transfer files from and to the remote desktop. This option is only available if file transfer was activated on the Remote Desktop. See Configuration.

New connection...

Opens the dialog for a new Remote Desktop connection. See Establishing a connection. The existing connection will be closed.

Save connection info as...

Saves a link to this connection as an RDC file (Remote Desktop Communication file) You can put this link on your desktop, for example. When saving, you will be asked if you want to store the password in the file.
Hint: Storing the password in the file constitutes a security risk.

By double-clicking on the link, you will start the connection software and establish a connection to the configured remote desktop without having to enter a computer name (and password, if you have chosen to store it in the file).


Closes the connection and quits the program.