Domains can be used to add users or groups to roles. When the domain changes, for example, if users are added to or removed from the domain, the Proficy Portal role can be set up so that it is synchronized with these changes, either on an ad hoc basis, or scheduled.
When a role is synchronized, users are managed through the domain rather than through Proficy Portal, and therefore the following restrictions apply when making changes to roles and users in the Proficy Portal Administration application:
A user cannot be added to a synchronized role.
A user cannot be removed from a synchronized role.
A user that belongs to a synchronized role cannot be removed from the list of users.
When a user has been removed from a domain, and that user is part of a synchronized role, the user is removed from the role, but the user's directory and files remain intact. The user's directory can be removed manually if necessary.
For detailed information on setting up and performing role synchronization, refer to the following: